Seven new canons installed in Glasgow and Perth

November 22, 2021

Seven new canons were installed at two of the Scottish Episcopal Church’s cathedrals at the weekend.

At St Mary’s Cathedral in Glasgow on Sunday, the Rev Ian Barcroft, the Rev Cedric Blakey, and the Rev Sandy Montgomerie were installed as Honorary Canons by Bishop Kevin Pearson at a Diocesan Choral Evensong for the Feast of Christ the King.

On the same day, the Diocese of St Andrews, Dunkeld & Dunblane celebrated the installation of four new Honorary Canons at a service of Evensong led by Bishop Ian Paton at St Ninian’s Cathedral in Perth. The new Honorary Canons are the Rev Canon Celia Matthews, the Rev Canon Kenny Rathband, the Rev Canon Professor Trevor Hart, and Lay Canon Dr John Ferguson Smith

The service also celebrated the installation of the new Dean of the Diocese, the Very Rev Graham Taylor, while the Rev Canon Kenny Rathband and his wife, Ruth, were also honoured for his time as Dean from 2007 to 2021.

The full service at Perth is available to view on the Diocesan YouTube channel by clicking here.

Photo: Bishop Kevin Pearson and the trio of newly-installed Honorary Canons at St Mary’s Cathedral – Rev Sandy Montgomerie, Rev Cedric Blakey and Rev Ian Barcroft. Image courtesy of the Diocese of Glasgow & Galloway.