Election process begins for new Bishop

August 25, 2020

The process of electing a new bishop for the Diocese of Argyll & The Isles has begun in earnest, with the Electoral Synod meeting for the first time this month.

The Preparatory Committee, which is responsible for compiling a shortlist of nominees, has also met.

The vacant See arises after the translation of Bishop Kevin Pearson to the Diocese of Glasgow & Galloway in July this year, at which time Bishop Ian Paton, Bishop of St Andrews, Dunkeld & Dunblane, became Acting Bishop of Argyll & The Isles until a new bishop fills the See.

The advertisement inviting nominations for what will be the 11th Bishop of Argyll & The Isles appears on the Scottish Episcopal Church website here and will also be published on the diocesan website and in the Church Times newspaper. It describes the Diocese as “rich in culture, with congregations full of potential, looking to re-imagine and develop the church to God’s glory”.

Nominations can be made to the Primus, using the form that is available on the provincial website, where those interested will also be able to access a recently revised and updated 32-page Diocesan Description for 2020 titled ‘Telling our story, sharing our hopes’. Nominations must have the consent of the nominee, who must be an ordained Priest of the Anglican Communion.

Paper copies of the nomination form may be obtained from the Diocesan Office at: St Moluag’s Diocesan Centre, Croft Avenue, Oban PA34 5JJ or by emailing office@argyll.anglican.org

On completion, nomination forms should be sent to: The Primus, The Most Rev Mark Strange, Diocese of Argyll and The Isles, St Moluag’s Diocesan Centre, Croft Avenue, Oban PA34 5J or by email to bishopsec@argyll.anglican.org to arrive no later than 11 September 2020.

The Electoral process is governed by the Canons of the Scottish Episcopal Church (Canon 4). These can be downloaded from the Provincial website: www.scotland.anglican.org

Election will be subject to a satisfactory enhanced disclosure check.