Boards and Committees


Standing Committee

The Standing Committee acts as the Executive Committee of the General Synod between meetings of the General Synod. It implements General Synod decisions, and seeks to co-ordinate the work of the General Synod’s four boards. The Standing Committee works with the College of Bishops in addressing strategic issues facing the Church as a whole. It is also responsible for the oversight of the General Synod Office.

Its members include the Conveners of the General Synod’s four boards (including the Primus), an independent Lay Convener, a further lay member and two clerical members appointed by General Synod and a representative of the College of Bishops.

The Provincial Environment Group (PEG)

Standing Committee is responsible for the Provincial Environment Group, which was set up to support the Scottish Episcopal Church in working towards the target set by General Synod 2020 to achieve net zero carbon emissions by 2030 and in responding to related environmental concerns such as loss of biodiversity.

The College of Bishops

The seven Bishops of the Scottish Episcopal Church are collectively known as the College of Bishops. The College of Bishops meet six times a year to support the strategic development of activities conducted by the four Boards and some of the pendant committees.

One Bishop is elected as Chair who holds the title of Primus (from the Latin ‘primus inter pares’ – ‘first among equals’).

The current Primus is the Most Reverend Mark Strange who is the Bishop of Moray, Ross and Caithness.

Administration Board

The Administration Board is responsible for policy relating to the administration of provincial investments and for matters relating to clergy stipends and allowances.

The Board is responsible for its four pendant committees: Investment, Retirement Housing, Buildings, and Personnel.

Faith and Order Board

The Faith and Order Board considers questions of Church government, organisation and relations with the Anglican Communion and other churches.

The Board is responsible for its five pendant committees: Liturgy, Inter-Church Relations, Interfaith Relations, Doctrine and Canons.

Institute Council

The Institute Council (also known as the Board of the Scottish Episcopal Institute) has strategic oversight of the Scottish Episcopal Institute and of the delivery of formation and training for authorised ministry in the Scottish Episcopal Church.  It has a Board of Studies with responsibility for curricula.

Mission Board

The Mission Board is responsible for the strategic oversight of the Church’s mission in Scotland and overseas including engagement in Scottish life and society.

The Board has three pendant committees: Church in Society, Global Partnerships, Local Mission Development and Youth.

It also oversees a number of inter-diocesan networks across a range of areas such as retreats and spirituality, mission planning, lay learning and discipleship, rural matters and children’s work.

Scottish Episcopal Church Pension Fund

The Scottish Episcopal Church operates a non-contributory final salary pension scheme for all stipendiary clergy and provincial and diocesan staff employees.

For further information please contact Pensions Officer Neil Wright at the Scottish Episcopal Church General Synod Office.

Code of Conduct for Board and Committee members

Members of the Standing Committee are regarded as the charity trustees of the General Synod,  and it is appropriate that all members of Boards or Committees adhere to the same general principles as are applicable specifically to charity trustees. This Code of Conduct is intended to provide guidance for those serving on Boards and Committees.